Home → Technology →

What Happens When You Block A Number On Android?

Written by, Adavelli Muninder

Updated September, 19, 2022

If you’ve ever had to deal with spam calls from telemarketers or unwanted callers, then you’ve probably considered blocking those annoying numbers that won’t stop calling you. 

But what happens when you block a number on Android? Do they get notified? What do they see? How long will the number stay blocked?

In this article, we’ll answer those questions and explain how you can block and unblock a number on an Android device.

Let’s dive in.

How Do You Block A Number On Android Phones?

The steps to blocking a number on an Android vary depending on the brand and version of the device, but with most, you can block a number through the Phone or Messages app. 

To block a number using the Phone app:

  1. Open the Phone app.
  2. Tap on Recent. 
  3. Find the number you want to block and tap on it. 
  4. Tap on the three dots and select Block Contact. 
  5. Confirm that you want to block the number.

If the number you want to block is not in your Recent tab:

  1. Click on the three-dot menu in the top right corner.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Tap on Block Numbers.
  4. Enter the number you want to block. You can also choose a number from your Contacts list.

To block a number using the Messages app:

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Find the conversation with the person you want to block. 
  3. Tap on More (the three dots in the top-right corner). 
  4. Tap Block. 
  5. You will see a pop-up asking if you’re sure you want to block the number. Confirm and tap Block.

You may also blacklist unknown phone numbers that aren’t saved in your contact list. This is the most reliable method to keep telemarketers and spam callers from reaching you.

Did you know? There was a 21% surge in fraud cases for telecommunication companies.

What Happens When You Block A Number On Android?

When you block a number on Android, the caller will no longer be able to reach you. 

When they call your number, they will hear a message saying that your number is no longer in service, and their call will go straight to voicemail (if you have one). The caller will not receive any notification that they have been blocked. 

When you block messages on an Android phone, texts from that number will be sent straight to spam. You would never know they tried texting you unless you opened the spam folder.

If you want, you can still call and text the number you have blocked– the block only works in one direction. They will receive your calls and text as usual (unless they have blocked you themselves), but they won’t be able to respond back with a call or text of their own.

If a blocked number is still calling you from other phones or using the ‘No Caller ID’ method, you should contact your provider. 

You may be interested in: What Do I Do If I Answer a Spam Call?

When You Block Someone on Android What Do They See?

Blocked numbers don’t get a notification, and there’s no certain way for them to know they’ve been blocked.

When they try to reach you, the call will be disconnected quickly, immediately routed to voicemail, or sent straight to the spam box if they try sending you text messages.

If someone doesn’t have experience with blocking on Android or understands how it works, they may believe that you’re unavailable at the moment.

You can always try a ‘No Caller ID’ or call the number from another phone to see if your number has been blocked. 

How Long Do Numbers Stay Blocked on Android?

Numbers stay blocked on Android indefinitely until you unblock them. 

However, unblocking a caller will not recover any of their calls or texts that took place while the number was blocked.

How To Unblock a Number on Android?

You can unblock a number by deleting the entry from the blocked contact: 

  1. Open the Phone app.
  2. Tap on More (the three dots in the top-right corner). 
  3. Tap on Settings. 
  4. Tap on Blocked numbers. 
  5. Find the number you want to unblock and tap Unblock. 
  6. Confirm that you want to unblock that number.

Bottom Line

In a world where telemarketing and robocalling have become prevalent, blocking someone on Android is virtually a necessity. Luckily, there are both phone and messaging blocking features on Android devices that can put an end to pesky calls and texts in just a few steps. 

What’s more, you can always change your mind and unblock any number you’ve blocked at any time.

                           

Frequently Asked Questions And Their Answers

What does the other person hear when you block their number?

When a blocked number tries to reach you, the person on the other end will hear a message saying that the number they’re calling is no longer in service.

Can you see if a blocked number has tried to text you?

When someone you’ve blocked texts you, their text messages are automatically sent to the spam folder. They won’t receive any notification that they’re blocked, and their messages will still look like they’ve been sent. 

Will I receive old messages after unblocking?

Once you block a number, you won’t be able to see any messages coming from it. You can unblock them to start receiving texts from them, but you still won’t get any of your previous messages back.